Help me find it

Image

To quote an oldy but goody, you can’t always get what you want, but in the end, you get exactly what you need. I think too often in life we are focused on our personal idea of happiness. We want this house, this person, this job, this situation and we are not focusing on the big picture. God doesn’t always answer our prayers about these situations the way we want. And it’s because in order for Him to answer our prayers in the “yes” fashion, the request has to be in line with His will.

When we ask Jesus to make things happen the way we want them to happen, we are saying to him that we think we know best what is right for us. The truth is the Lord knows us better than we will ever know ourselves. We know what we want. God knows what we need. Sometimes we are in circumstances we don’t understand or want, but God uses ALL and I mean ALL situations for His glory. When things appear like they are falling apart, they are actually falling into place. When we feel our lives are out of control, they are exactly under God’s total control.

If you were to really think about it, would you want something you knew would be bad for you? No, because it would cause you harm, pain, sadness and disappointment. In this example, the difference between our will and God’s will is that our will can only see what we want out of our immediate situation. We are, however, blind to what the future holds. God answers some of our prayers with ‘no,’ because He knows whether in the long run something will be good for us and will accomplish His purposes.

I hope you are following this idea. We need not become discouraged by difficult situations. Our prayers for specific answers are really not being helpful to us, because we should be focusing on the fact that despite the way our circumstances look, God is in control, God is working good for our lives and He knows our story from beginning to end. Let this idea really sink in: God knows our ENTIRE story from beginning to end.

While we know what we want, God knows what we need. His plans are to prosper us and not to harm us. Pray for His will to be done, a will that will bring Him glory! Trust that He is working ALL things for your good, even in struggles. When you stop trying to get what you want, you actually find you get exactly what you need.

Romans 8:28

“28 And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”

The song, “Help Me Find It” by Sidewalk Prophets is an incredible prayer for us all, that we may wait upon the Lord as He does good in our lives. I pray that He gives you peace about your current circumstances and faith to know that you are right where you should be in your story.

NOTE: I do not own this video

“Help Me Find It”

 

I don’t know where to go from here
It all used to seem so clear
I’m finding I can’t do this on my own
I don’t know where to go from here
As long as I know that You are near
I’m done fighting
I’m finally letting go

I will trust in You
You’ve never failed before
I will trust in You

[Chorus:]
If there’s a road I should walk
Help me find it
If I need to be still
Give me peace for the moment
Whatever Your will
Whatever Your will
Can you help me find it
Can you help me find it

I’m giving You fear and You give faith
I giving you doubt
You give me grace
For every step I’ve never been alone

Even when it hurts, You’ll have Your way
Even in the valley I will say
With every breath
You’ve never let me go

I will wait for You
You’ve never failed before
I will wait for You

[Chorus]

I lift my empty hands (come fill me up again)
Have Your way my King (I give my all to You)
I lift my eyes again (Was blind but now I see)
‘Cause You are all I need

[Chorus]

One thought on “Help me find it

Leave a comment